Small Matters at the 2018 Sterling Awards

June 28, 2018

We are thrilled to announce the 2018 Elizabeth Sterling Haynes Award for Outstanding Contribution to Theatre in Edmonton went to our wisest of fools, Jan Henderson! The presentation took place at the 31st Annual Elizabeth Sterling Haynes Awards, Monday, June 25, 2018 at the Mayfield Dinner Theatre. Huge congratulations to all the nominees and winners.

Also announced, the winning plays and playwrights of the 2018 Alberta Playwriting Competition, at both the Elizabeth Sterling Haynes Awards, and at the Betty Mitchell Awards in Calgary.

The winner of the Novitiate Prize, awarded to an outstanding unproduced playwright, was Christine Lesiak, for her new play, The Space Between Stars. As part of her prize, Christine will receive ongoing support from Alberta Playwrights’ Network to continue the development of the script.